Rainbow Splashes

illustrations

Playing with Colour

25 Comments

Almost didn’t have anything to post for PPF this week.  My legs got entangled with a ladder when hanging up some curtains and I have messed them up a bit (especially the knees) and as a result have to park myself in a chair with my legs up or hobble around on two crutches.  I ditched the painkillers as they were making me rather groggy and now I can think!

The braces I have to wear mean that I cant bend my knees and sitting at a table is awkward.  So it is in the recliner I languish my days away.  Not all is lost as I have been doing some crochet, A crochet along that I had my eye on by a South African, Vanessa Smith of Hooked on Sunshine blog but didn’t think I had the time for.   So I downloaded  the pattern and have beavering  away.  As per usual I have completely moved away from the colours suggested and the order of the colours.  It is like painting with cotton.  Strangely enough the cotton brand I am using is called Paintbox!

lilianapt3b

I have been trying out a trial of Painter 5 Essentials and the trial ends at the weekend, I like it but wondered what the full blown Painter 2018 was like and decided to download the a trial for that.  That was 3 o’clock this afternoon, a burnt dinner, many cold teas later I have this to show you.

tina2

I love it!  I think I will definitely get it as it does so much more, especially with texture and thick paint brushes.  It will even be better when I get a Waicom tablet to draw and paint with.  I did this with a mouse, somewhat awkward to say the least.

Have you noticed that my colours are similar to the afghan I am making!  Do you tend to stick to a certain colour palette? I must try and extend myself and push the envelop a bit.

Here’s something to make you smile whether you are a crocheter or painter.

8986eab0d7b31353be006ecfb875b3ca--coffee-mug-sets-funny-coffee-mugs

crochet-is-like-being-a-magician

Have a lovely week and thank you for visiting.

Sharon.

Author: Sharon

Live in New Zealand, with three cats. I have three passions, cooking art and gardening.

25 thoughts on “Playing with Colour

  1. Hi Sharon, sorry to hear about your poor knees, sounds bad, hope you are soon feeling better. Your crochet work is fantastic, I am gobsmacked. And I love the painting you did in your new programme, have fun with it. Have a great weekend and look after yourself, happy PPF, hugs, Valerie

  2. Your all art pieces look wonderful. I like your beautiful color palette.
    Happy weekend ❣

  3. Your crochet work is wonderful and the painting is beautiful ! color is great!
    good improvement for your knees
    Happy weekend
    Elke

  4. Sorry to hear about your fall and hope you’ll be so much better real soon. Your crocheted piece is gorgeous. I used to do a bit of crochet but nothing so fancy as that! And the painting in the same colors is lovely. I’m not sure how that works. I have Photoshop elements to enhance photos, but I don’t think I could do a painting with it.

  5. Oh Sharon so sorry to hear about your terrible fall, please be careful. Your crochet is lovely as is your beautiful girl!

  6. Sorry to hear about that nasty fall. I have had to wear a brace like yours and it’s no picnic. Good for you to find a crafty way to pass the time reclining. Love the colors and pattern you’re using. And your digital painting-wow – I love it!! Happy PPF!

  7. Oh no! How awful! I slipped on some water at the grocery store and fell to one knee (doing a split with the other leg) and was saved from being more badly injured by the fact I was holding onto the cart handle. But, your situation is MUCH worse! I am so sorry! Really love your beautiful crochet. And the cups made me smile!

  8. Sorry to hear about your accident! Knees can be very painful. Hope it’ll feel better soon! That being said, you’re spending your time in the recliner well! That crochet piece looks very complicated and beautiful. I love your colour choices by the way! For the painting as well as the crochet. So that is a digital piece? It’s gorgeous!

  9. Oooh ~ sending lots distant reiki healing to you ~ Wonderful crochet work ~ divine colors and your portrait illustration is so sweet and well done ~ ^_^

    Love and light,
    A ShutterBug Explores ~ aka ~ (A Creative Harbor)

  10. Your crochetwork is totally aw!ome! WOW!!! I had a big smile over the painters cups, haha

  11. I love your digital painting, so very pretty! And I also love the tea cups! I’ve made that mistake before lol

  12. Hello Sharon, visiting from PPF with congratulations on your feature this week.
    Your painting and crochetwork is so wonderful. I do love the pretty colours you choose.
    Good wishes as you heal after that unfortunate accident. Cheers, Sue :D)

  13. Love it!!! I remember telling my son that he couldn’t wear a patterned shirt with patterned pants. He still remembers that 50 years later. He reminded me just a few weeks ago that I told him striped shirt and khaki pants was ok or plain shirt and striped shorts was OK. Your needlework is wonderful. Love the cat.

  14. Kudos to you Sharon for your digital painting. Love it so much and glad it was the random selection this week.

  15. Congrats on being featured this week on PPF! I love your color-play. Yes I think you do tend to use the same colors that you love in most projects…unless you deliberately try not to. I hope your legs get better fast!

Leave a Reply

